E-Alerts & Press Releases

Tell your Senators: Stop the eviction epidemic!

February 27, 2018

The Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee is weighing bills that will expand the grounds for rent evictions – while we still don't have Rent Court Reform!

Let's make it clear: scrap the bad bills and pass Rent Court Reform now!

NO on Landlord’s Bill: SB 493

SB 493 will allow evictions for unpaid repair costs, hidden fees, and utility charges, without adding any due process protections.
 
Tell members of the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee to vote Unfavorable on SB 493.

Senators Bobby Zirkin, Delores Kelley, Jim Brochin, Susan Lee, Anthony Muse, Victor Ramirez, and Will Smith need to hear that we do not need more evictions in Maryland.

 

 

YES on the RENT COURT REFORM PACKAGE

SB 520: Provide a minimum 7-days between summons and trial (Baltimore City only)
 
SB 524: Dismiss actions when the landlord cannot show a valid Lead Paint certificate
 
Tell members of the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee to vote Favorable on SB 520 and SB 524.

These bills provide basic, consensus-based reforms to our dysfunctional Rent Court eviction process. We need our elected officials to know that there is a better way forward!

Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee

Robert A. Zirkin, Chair (District 11, Baltimore County): (410) 841-3131, (301) 858-3131, bobby.zirkin@senate.state.md.us

Delores G. Kelley, Vice-Chair (District 10, Baltimore County): (410) 841-3606, (301) 858-3606, delores.kelley@senate.state.md.us

James Brochin (District 42, Baltimore County): (410) 841-3648, (301) 858-3648, jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us

Robert G. Cassilly (District 34, Harford County): (410) 841-3158, (301) 858-3158, bob.cassilly@senate.state.md.us

Michael J. Hough (District 4, Carroll & Frederick Counties): (410) 841-3704, (301) 858-3704, michael.hough@senate.state.md.us

Susan C. Lee (District 16, Montgomery County): (410) 841-3124, (301) 858-3124, susan.lee@senate.state.md.us

C. Anthony Muse (District 26, Prince George’s County): (410) 841-3092, (301) 858-3092, anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us

Wayne Norman (District 35, Cecil and Harford Counties): (410) 841-3603, (301) 858-3603, wayne.norman@senate.state.md.us

Victor R. Ramirez (District 47, Prince George’s County): (410) 841-3745, (301) 858-3745, victor.ramirez@senate.state.md.us

Justin D. Ready (District 5, Carroll County): (410) 841-3683, (301) 858-3683, justin.ready@senate.state.md.us

William C. Smith, Jr. (District 20, Montgomery County): (410) 841-3634, (301) 858-3634, will.smith@senate.state.md.us



For more information about the PJC’s legislative work on rent court reform, contact Zafar Shah at (410) 625-9409 x237 or shahz@publicjustice.org. For general inquiries about legislation, contact John Nethercut at (410) 625-9409 x238 or nethercutj@publicjustice.org.



« Back