E-Alerts & Press Releases

Tell the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee: Clean up Rent Court. Vote YES on SB 524.

March 28, 2018

Renting out a home without a valid lead-paint inspection certificate is illegal. But landlords do it anyway. And when they go to Rent Court, judges are barred by statute from even considering this illegal conduct at trial. It's time for the courts to stop giving safe harbor to lawbreaking landlords - and to start ensuring fair hearings.

Tell the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee to vote YES on SB 524.

This bill gives judges clear authority to throw out eviction cases when landlords fail to show compliance with Maryland Reduction of Lead Risk in Housing Law. The bill also provides either party in Rent Court to seek up to 7 days' postponement  to bring documents, witnesses, or the proof needed for their case.

The Committee is expected to vote on SB 524 today, March 28. Tell them: Clean up the Rent Court. Make it fair. YES on SB 524.


Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee

Robert A. Zirkin, Chair (District 11, Baltimore County): (410) 841-3131, (301) 858-3131, bobby.zirkin@senate.state.md.us

Delores G. Kelley, Vice-Chair (District 10, Baltimore County): (410) 841-3606, (301) 858-3606, delores.kelley@senate.state.md.us

James Brochin (District 42, Baltimore County): (410) 841-3648, (301) 858-3648, jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us

Robert G. Cassilly (District 34, Harford County): (410) 841-3158, (301) 858-3158, bob.cassilly@senate.state.md.us

Michael J. Hough (District 4, Carroll and Frederick Counties): (410) 841-3704, (301) 858-3704, michael.hough@senate.state.md.us

Susan C. Lee (District 16, Montgomery County): (410) 841-3124, (301) 858-3124, susan.lee@senate.state.md.us

C. Anthony Muse (District 26, Prince George’s County): (410) 841-3092, (301) 858-3092, anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us

Linda Norman (District 35, Cecil and Harford Counties): (410) 841-3603, (301) 858-3603, linda.norman@senate.state.md.us

Victor R. Ramirez (District 47, Prince George’s County): (410) 841-3745, (301) 858-3745, victor.ramirez@senate.state.md.us

Justin D. Ready (District 5, Carroll County): (410) 841-3683, (301) 858-3683, justin.ready@senate.state.md.us

William C. Smith, Jr. (District 20, Montgomery County): (410) 841-3634, (301) 858-3634, will.smith@senate.state.md.us


For more information about the PJC’s legislative work on rent court reform, contact Zafar Shah at (410) 625-9409 x237 or shahz@publicjustice.org. For general inquiries about legislation, contact John Nethercut at (410) 625-9409 x238 or nethercutj@publicjustice.org.



« Back