E-Alerts & Press Releases

Thank the Baltimore City Council Housing & Urban Affairs Committee for voting in favor of stopping source of income discrimination in housing

February 15, 2019

Thank you, Baltimore City Council Housing & Urban Affairs Committee!

On Tuesday, February 12th, the City Council Housing & Urban Affairs Committee
voted in favor of stopping housing discrimination in Baltimore City!
 
CB# 18-0308, a bill to ban housing discrimination based on source of income cleared the Council Committee without amendments. We are one step closer to fairer housing in Baltimore City!
 
Please take a moment to thank the members of the Housing & Urban Affairs Committee. Find your Council Member here.
 
John Bullock, 410-396-4815, John.Bullock@baltimorecity.gov
Kristefer Burnett, 410-396-4818, Kristerfer.Burnett@baltimorecity.gov
Zeke Cohen, 410-396-4821, Zeke.Cohen@baltimorecity.gov
Ryan Dorsey (bill sponsor), 410-396-4812, Ryan.Dorsey@baltimorecity.gov
Bill Henry, 410-396-4830, Bill.Henry@baltimorecity.gov
Isaac "Yitzy" Schleifer, 410-396-4819, Isaac.Schleifer@baltimorecity.gov
Shannon Sneed, 410-396-4829, Shannon.Sneed@baltimorecity.gov
 
We also give special thanks to other Council Members outside the Committee for steadfast support of this issue, including Councilmember Mary Pat Clarke (410-396-4814, MaryPat.Clarke@baltimorecity.gov).

Now on to the full Council for second reader!
The Committee will report the bill to the full Council for second reader on March 11, 2019.  The Coalition (listed below) will continue to work diligently to ensure renters are treated fairly in Baltimore City. Stay tuned for our next action alert!

About source of income discrimination
Source of income discrimination occurs when landlords refuse to rent to someone based on the type of income they use to pay for housing, such as a housing voucher or other government assistance. This practice contributes to concentrations of poverty, racially segregated housing and homelessness. Over 70 local jurisdictions and 11 states prohibit this practice, including three counties and two cities in Maryland. In 2017, the American Bar Association adopted a policy urging governments to prohibit the practice. It is time for Baltimore to stop allowing this form of housing discrimination! Read more about the City bill and statewide efforts to ban source of income discrimination in housing here.

For more information, contact Antonia Fasanelli at afasanelli@hprplaw.org or Matt Hill at hillm@publicjustice.org.

The coalition supporting CB 18-0308 includes:

ACLU of Maryland
Baltimore Chapter, NAACP
Baltimore Housing Roundtable
Baltimore Regional Housing Partnership
BRIDGE Maryland, Inc.
Citizens Planning and Housing Association
Community Development Network of Maryland
Disability Rights Maryland
Health Care for the Homeless
Homeless Persons Representation Project
IMAGE Center
Jews United for Justice
Public Justice Center
United Workers



« Back