E-Alerts & Press Releases

Say thank you to the City Councilmembers who stood up against housing discrimination

March 13, 2019

Thank you to everyone who supported an end to housing discrimination based on source of income in Baltimore City!

CB 18-0308 passed the Baltimore City Council on second reader Monday night!

While this passage is a step forward, the bill included the so-called "20% amendment," which allows landlords who own five or more contiguous units to resume discriminating against voucher holders if 20% of the units in a property are rented to voucher families. This amendment carries a four year sunset and is set to expire in June 2023. The Public Justice Center is strongly opposed to this discrimination allowance.

Five City Councilmembers voted against this amendment!

Ryan Dorsey (Bill Sponsor), 410-396-4812, Ryan.Dorsey@baltimorecity.gov
Kristefer Burnett, 410-396-4818, Kristerfer.Burnett@baltimorecity.gov
Zeke Cohen, 410-396-4821, Zeke.Cohen@baltimorecity.gov
Mary Pat Clarke, 410-396-4814, MaryPat.Clarke@baltimorecity.gov
Shannon Sneed, 410-396-4829, Shannon.Sneed@baltimorecity.gov

Please join us in thanking them for standing up against this amendment!
 
*****

About source of income discrimination
Source of income discrimination contributes to concentrations of poverty, racially segregated housing and homelessness. Over 70 local jurisdictions and 12 states (including DC) prohibit this practice, including three counties and two cities in Maryland. In 2017, the American Bar Association adopted a policy urging governments to prohibit the practice. It is time for Baltimore to stop allowing this form of housing discrimination! Read more about the City bill and statewide efforts to ban source of income discrimination in housing here.

For more information about CB 18-0308, contact Antonia Fasanelli at afasanelli@hprplaw.org or Matt Hill at hillm@publicjustice.org.

The coalition supporting CB 18-0308 includes:
ACLU of Maryland
Baltimore Chapter, NAACP
Baltimore Housing Roundtable
Baltimore Regional Housing Partnership
BRIDGE Maryland, Inc.
Citizens Planning and Housing Association
Community Development Network of Maryland
Disability Rights Maryland
Health Care for the Homeless
Homeless Persons Representation Project
IMAGE Center
Jews United for Justice
Public Justice Center



« Back