E-Alerts & Press Releases

Tell Maryland legislators to support the Unpaid Wage Lien Bills

February 22, 2013: Thousands of Maryland employers do not pay their workers the full amount they have earned, robbing them of income needed to pay for rent or groceries. A new bill in the Maryland legislature will make it easier for workers to collect unpaid wages by allowing them to put a lien on their employer's property. A lien is a common tool used in many industries to encourage prompt payment of debts but is not currently available to most workers. It simply creates a temporary hold to keep the employer from selling, hiding or disposing of the property until the wages are paid or the lien is released.

The House of Delegates Economic Matters Committee will hear testimony on this bill on Wednesday, February 27. You can help support HB 1130/SB 758 by contacting these legislators. Or come to the hearing in Annapolis to show the legislators you care about Maryland workers.  If you have questions or know others who want to testify, please contact Sally Dworak-Fisher at 410.625.9409 ext. 225. 
 
 
Contact your legislators
 
House of Delegates Economic Matters Committee 
1-800-492-7122
 
Dereck E. Davis, Chair, ext. 3519, dereck.davis@house.state.md.us
David D. Rudolph, Vice-Chair ext. 3444
Charles E. Barkley, ext. 3001, charles.barkley@house.state.md.us
Benjamin S. Barnes, ext. 3046, ben.barnes@house.state.md.us
Aisha N. Braveboy, ext. 3707, aisha.braveboy@house.state.md.us
Emmett C. Burns, Jr., ext. 3352, emmett.burns@house.state.md.us
Galen R. Clagett, ext. 3436, galen.clagett@house.state.md.us
Brian J. Feldman, ext. 3186, brian.feldman@house.state.md.us
Jeannie Haddaway-Riccio, ext. 3429 
Stephen S. Hershey, Jr., ext. 3543, steve.hershey@house.state.md.us
Tom Hucker, ext. 3474, tom.hucker@house.state.md.us
Richard K. Impallaria, ext. 3289, rick.impallaria@house.state.md.us
Sally Y. Jameson, ext. 3337, sally.jameson@house.state.md.us
Benjamin F. Kramer, ext. 3485, benjamin.kramer@house.state.md.us
Mary Ann Love, ext. 3511, maryann.love@house.state.md.us
Brian K. McHale, ext. 3319, brian.mchale@house.state.md.us
Warren E. Miller, ext. 3582, warren.miller@house.state.md.us
Joseph J. Minnick, ext. 3332, joseph.minnick@house.state.md.us
John A. Olszewski, Jr., ext. 3458, john.olszewski@house.state.md.us
Steven R. Schuh, ext. 3206, steve.schuh@house.state.md.us
Kelly M. Schulz, ext. 3080, kelly.schulz@house.state.md.us
Donna M. Stifler, ext. 3278, donna.stifler@house.state.md.us
Michael L. Vaughn, ext. 3691, michael.vaughn@house.state.md.us
 
 
Come to the hearing. Help us pack the house!
 
House of Delegates Economic Matters Committee
Wednesday, February 27, 1:00 P.M. 
House Office Building
6 Bladen St.
Annapolis, MD 21401
 


« Back