E-Alerts & Press Releases

Tell your legislators: Stop non-judicial evictions

March 4, 2013:

PJC attorney Matt Hill explains why non-judicial evictions must stop.

Kristen Oakes,* her husband, and their two small children lived in a two-bedroom apartment that flooded constantly. Kristen complained repeatedly to the building manager about the flooding that was causing significant mold growth and health problems for her family. She filed for rent escrow when nothing was fixed. Two days after the escrow hearing, the manager of the building showed up at her door and told her that her lease was terminated. Two days after that visit and without any court process, Kristen returned home to find the locks changed with all of her belongings and furniture left inside. Kristen and her family became instantly homeless and had to live in a homeless shelter.

This is a non-judicial eviction: when a foreclosure sale purchaser or landlord evicts or locks out a homeowner or tenant without court process or the presence of the Sheriff. Amazingly, this is still legal in Maryland in many situations. 
 
This needs to stop. Tell Maryland lawmakers to pass HB 1308 / SB 642 and stop non-judicial evictions.
 
Landlords and foreclosure sale purchasers should do evictions through the courts and the Sheriff’s Office, not through sudden lock-outs.
 
For more about non-judicial evictions, click here. For a Baltimore Sun article about non-judicial evictions and this bill, click here.
 
Please contact the members of the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee and House Environmental Matters Committee. 
 
Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee
1-800-492-7122
 
Brian E. Frosh, Chair, ext. 3124, brian.frosh@senate.state.md.us 
Lisa A. Gladden, Vice-Chair, ext. 3697
James Brochin, ext. 3648, jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us
Jennie M. Forehand, ext. 3134, jennie.forehand@senate.state.md.us
Joseph M. Getty, ext. 3683, joseph.getty@senate.state.md.us
Nancy Jacobs, ext. 3158, nancy.jacobs@senate.state.md.us
C. Anthony Muse, ext. 3092, anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us
Jamin B. (Jamie) Raskin, ext. 3634, jamie.raskin@senate.state.md.us
Christopher B. Shank, ext. 3903
Norman R. Stone, Jr., ext. 3587, norman.stone@senate.state.md.us
Robert A. Zirkin, ext. 3131, bobby.zirkin@senate.state.md.us
 
House Environmental Matters Committee
1-800-492-7122
 
Maggie McIntosh, Chair, ext. ext. 3990
James E. Malone, Jr., Vice-Chair, ext. 3378
Pamela G. Beidle, ext. 3370, pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us
Elizabeth Bobo, ext. 3205, elizabeth.bobo@house.state.md.us
Rudolph C. Cane, ext. 3427, rudolph.cane@house.state.md.us
Alfred C. Carr, Jr., ext. 3638, alfred.carr@house.state.md.us
Barbara A. Frush, ext. 3114, barbara.frush@house.state.md.us
James W. Gilchrist, ext. 3744, jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us
Cheryl D. Glenn, ext. 3257, cheryl.glenn@house.state.md.us
Anne Healey, ext. 3961, anne.healey@house.state.md.us
Patrick N. Hogan, ext. 3240, patrick.hogan@house.state.md.us
Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., ext. 3310, marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us
Jay A. Jacobs, ext. 3449, jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us
Stephen W. Lafferty, ext. 3487, stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us
Herbert H. McMillan, ext. 3211, herb.mcmillan@house.state.md.us
Doyle L. Niemann, ext. 3326, doyle.niemann@house.state.md.us
H. Wayne Norman, Jr., ext. 3284, wayne.norman@house.state.md.us
Anthony J. O'Donnell, ext. 3314, anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us
Charles J. Otto, ext. 3433, charles.otto@house.state.md.us
A. Shane Robinson,ext. 3021, shane.robinson@house.state.md.us
Dana M. Stein, ext. 3527, dana.stein@house.state.md.us
Cathleen M. Vitale, ext. 3510, cathy.vitale@house.state.md.us
Michael H. Weir, Jr., ext. 3328, michael.weir@house.state.md.us
C. T. Wilson, ext. 3325, ct.wilson@house.state.md.us
 
 
*Name changed to protect individual privacy
 

 



« Back