E-Alerts & Press Releases

Urge lawmakers to protect workers from retaliation!

 
March 31, 2014: An important anti-retaliation bill will be considered by the Senate Finance Committee on April 1, and we need your help to make sure that it passes.  This bill would make it illegal for an employer to retaliate against an employee for asserting his or her rights under one of Maryland’s wage laws, the Wage Payment and Collection Law.  We know that retaliation is common – especially against low-wage workers – and that it takes many forms, including cutting workers' hours, giving them unfavorable work assignments,  or firing them.  And retaliation does not simply affect the individual employee – it also creates ripple effects throughout the workforce, making other workers fearful of asserting their rights under Maryland’s wage laws.  
 
HB 1314 would update the Wage Payment and Collection Law to ensure that workers could assert their rights to be paid their wages without fearing that they will lose their jobs or face other negative consequences at work in retaliation.  This bill has already passed the House of Delegates, but in order for the Senate to vote on this bill, the Finance Committee needs pass it out of their Committee first.  Please call the members of the Senate Finance Committee on or before April 1, and tell them to vote in FAVOR of HB 1314.  
 
Senate Finance Committee
1-800-492-7122
 
Thomas M. Middleton, Chair, ext. 3616, thomas.mclain.middleton@senate.state.md.us
John C. Astle, Vice-Chair, ext. 3578, john.astle@senate.state.md.us
David R. Brinkley, ext. 3704, david.brinkley@senate.state.md.us
Brian J. Feldman, ext. 3169, brian.feldman@senate.state.md.us
Barry Glassman, ext. 3603, barry.glassman@senate.state.md.us
Delores G. Kelley, ext. 3606, delores.kelley@senate.state.md.us
Allan H. Kittleman, ext. 3671, allan.kittleman@senate.state.md.us
Katherine A. Klausmeier, ext. 3620, katherine.klausmeier@senate.state.md.us
James N. Mathias, Jr., ext. 3645, james.mathias@senate.state.md.us
Catherine E. Pugh, ext. 3656, catherine.pugh@senate.state.md.us
Victor R. Ramirez, ext. 3745, victor.ramirez@senate.state.md.us
 


« Back