E-Alerts & Press Releases

Tell your legislators: Pass the Healthy Working Families Act

More than 700,000 Marylanders do not have the opportunity to earn paid sick leave to use when they or a loved one gets sick. Lawmakers could soon vote on a bill to change that and your call or email in support of the Healthy Working Families Act is essential.
Without paid sick days, thousands of our neighbors must make impossible choices:  go to work sick, send an ill child to school or daycare, or stay home and sacrifice much-needed income or, worse, risk job loss.
The Healthy Working Families Act would address these challenges by allowing employees to earn one hour of paid sick time for every 30 hours worked, up to seven days per year.
Now is the time to ask the members of the Senate Finance and House Economic Matters Committees to vote in favor of the Healthy Working Families Act (SB 40/HB 385). Legislators need to hear from you. See below for a list of committee members and their contact information.

Paid sick days fact sheet
Thank you for your help!

Senate Finance Committee
Mac Middleton, Chair: thomas.mcclain.middleton@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3616
John Astle, Vice Chair: john.astle@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3578
Joanne Benson: joanne.benson@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3148
Brian Feldman: brian.feldman@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3169
Stephen Hershey: steve.hershey@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3639
J.B. Jennings: jb.jennings@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3706
Delores Kelley: delores.kelley@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3606
Kathy Klausmeier: katherine.klausmeier@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3620
James Mathias: james.mathias@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3645
Catherine Pugh: catherine.pugh@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3656
Edward Reilly: edward.reilly@senate.state.md.us, (410) 841-3568

House Economic Matters Committee
Dereck Davis, Chair: dereck.davis@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3519
Sally Jameson, Vice Chair: sally.jameson@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3337
Talmadge Branch: talmadge.branch@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3398
Christopher Adams: christopher.adams@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3343
Steven Arentz: steven.arentz@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3543
Susan Aumann: susan.aumann@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3258
Charles Barkley: charles.barkley@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3001
Benjamin Brooks: benjamin.brooks@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3352
Ned Carey: ned.carey@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3047
Luke Clippinger: luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3303
Mark Fisher: mark.fisher@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3231
Bill Frick: bill.frick@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3454
Cheryl Glenn: cheryl.glenn@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3257
Seth Howard: seth.howard@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3919
Rick Impallaria: rick.impallaria@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3289
Benjamin Kramer: benjamin.kramer@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3485
Mary Ann Lisanti: mary.lisanti@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3331
Johnny Mautz: johnny.mautz@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3429
Warren Miller: warren.miller@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3582
Kriselda Valderrama: kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3210
Michael Vaughn: michael.vaughn@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3691
Jeff Waldstreicher: jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3130
C.T. Wilson: ct.wilson@house.state.md.us, (410) 841-3325

« Back